Which Universities Are Under ASUU?

When you hear that the Academic Staff Union of Universities (ASUU) is going on strike, the first thing that comes to mind is Which Universities Are Under ASUU?

List of State Universities Under ASUU and List of Federal Universities Under ASUU?

Well, if you’ve been looking for a list of schools that are under ASUU, this post will help you, because I’m going to show you a list of universities that are part of ASUU.

Before that, What Is This ASUU?

The Academic Staff Union of Universities (ASUU) was formed in 1978.

ASUU and the Federal Government of Nigeria are always at odds over things like funding of Nigerian universities and better working conditions, among other things.

And every time the two sides met to try to work out their differences, the government usually promised the union that its demands would be fulfilled soon.

Why Does ASUU Go On Strike So Often?

The main reason ASUU goes on strike almost every year is that the government hasn’t met the union’s demands since 1999.

Now that you know what ASUU stands for and what role it plays in the Nigerian education system, let’s look at the institutions that are part of this group.

Which Universities Are Under ASUU?

The Academic Staff Union of Universities comprises the following Federal and State Universities.

But it should be noted that all Federal Universities are under ASUU.

At the State Level, State Universities are also part of ASUU.

Also, it’s important to note that Private Universities are not part of the Academic Staff Union of Universities (ASUU).

List of Federal Universities Under ASUU

  • Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University
  • Ahmadu Bello University
  • Air Force Institute Of Technology
  • Bayero University
  • Federal University Gashua
  • Federal University Of Agriculture
  • Federal University Of Petroleum Resources
  • Federal University Of Technology
  • Federal University Of Technology, Minna
  • Federal University Of Technology, Owerri
  • Federal University, Birnin
  • Federal University, Dutse
  • Federal University, Dutsin-ma
  • Federal University, Gusau
  • Federal University, Kashere
  • Federal University, Lafia
  • Federal University, Lokoja
  • Federal University, Ndifu-alike
  • Federal University, Otuoke
  • Federal University, Oye-Ekiti
  • Federal University, Wukari
  • Michael Okpara University Of Agricultural
  • Modibbo Adama University Of Technology
  • National Open University Of Nigeria
  • Nigeria Police Academy Wudil
  • Nigerian Army University Biu
  • Nigerian Defence Academy Kaduna
  • Nigerian Maritime University
  • Nnamdi Azikiwe University
  • Obafemi Awolowo University
  • University Of Abuja
  • University Of Agriculture
  • University Of Benin
  • University Of Calabar
  • University Of Health Technology
  • University Of Ibadan
  • University Of Ilorin
  • University Of Jos
  • University Of Lagos
  • University Of Maiduguri
  • University Of Nigeria
  • University Of Port-Harcourt
  • University Of Uyo
  • Usumanu Danfodiyo University

List Of State Universities Under ASUU

  • Abia State University
  • Adamawa State University, Mubi
  • Akwa Ibom State University Of Technology, Uyo
  • Ambrose Alli University
  • Anambra State University
  • Bauchi State University
  • Benue State University, Makurdi
  • Delta State University, Abraka
  • Ebonyi State University, Abakaliki
  • Ignatius Ajuru University Of Education
  • Imo State University
  • Kaduna State University
  • Kano State University Of Technology
  • Kebbi State University Of Science And Technology
  • Kogi State University
  • Kwara State University, Malete
  • Ladoke Akintola University Of Science And Technology
  • Lagos State University (LASU)
  • Michael Okpara University Of Agriculture, Umudike, Abia State
  • Nasarawa State University, Keffi
  • Niger Delta University, Yenagoa
  • Ondo State University Of Science And Technology
  • Osun State University
  • Rivers State University Of Science And Technology
  • Sokoto State University
  • Sule Lamido University
  • Tai Solarin University Of Education
  • Taraba State University
  • University Of Ado Ekiti
  • Yobe State University

In conclusion, all federal and state universities except private universities are part of the Academic Staff Union of Universities (ASUU).

Recommended for you

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published.