UNESCO International Literacy Prizes 2022 (up to $30,000)

The UNESCO International Literacy Prizes 2022 are now accepting applications.

UNESCO International Literacy Prizes

All literacy learning champions are invited to apply, and nominating institutions are urged to interact and nominate their favorite candidates from all around the globe.

UNESCO will honor six persons or organizations for excellent initiatives that enhance literacy learning, as it does every year, and this year’s edition will focus on the topic ‘Transforming literacy learning spaces.’ The subject strives to emphasize the numerous current learning environments (work, school, family, learning centers) and their relationships and linkages.

The UNESCO International Literacy Prizes have been honoring achievement and innovation in literacy since 1967. Around 506 initiatives and programs from all over the globe have already been recognized and supported for their outstanding achievements.


There are two UNESCO International Literacy Prizes currently available:

  • The UNESCO King Sejong Literacy Prize (three prizes) was founded in 1989 and is financed by the Korean government. It pays particular attention to initiatives that encourage literacy development in the native tongue.
  • Each recipient of the UNESCO King Sejong Literacy Prize gets a medal, a certificate, and a cash prize of US$20,000.
  • The UNESCO Confucius Prize for Literacy (three prizes) was created in 2005 and is backed by the Chinese government. This award honors initiatives that empower individuals in rural regions and out-of-school kids by promoting literacy, especially functional literacy, via the use of electronic surroundings.
  • A medal, a certificate, and US$30,000 are awarded to each UNESCO Confucius Prize for Literacy recipient.

Requirements for the UNESCO International Literacy Prizes

  • Open to all governments, non-governmental organizations, and people that contribute to the development and growth of literacy learning via initiatives and activities.
  • All submissions should be sent to the nominating entities, who are urged to convey the nominated persons, institutions, and organizations to UNESCO via the National Commission for UNESCO in the country of the program or an NGO in an official relationship with UNESCO.

How to Apply for the UNESCO International Literacy Prizes

Candidates must submit their applications to nominating bodies by June 6, 2022. (midnight, Paris time).

Deadline: Nominating entities have until June 20, 2022, to submit their submissions to UNESCO (midnight, Paris time).

Candidates may use the online platform to submit their applications.

Visit UNESCO Prizes for more information.

Recommended for You

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published.