SEJ Awards for Reporting on the Environment 2022

The Society of Environmental Journalists,SEJ in the United States is accepting proposals for the 2022 Awards for Environment Reporting.

SEJ Awards for Reporting on the Environment

The 19th annual SEJ Awards for Environmental Reporting continue to celebrate the greatest environmental journalism in ten categories, giving attention to the world’s most important topics.

Worth of Award

  • First-place winners in each category will get $500, while second-place winners will receive $250. Plus…
  • One submission among the first-place winners of SEJ’s Awards for Environmental Reporting will receive $10,000 as the Nina Mason Pulliam Award for “best of the best” environmental reporting.
  • The reward also includes up to $2,500 in travel, registration, and accommodation fees for the winner, or members of the winning team, to attend SEJ’s annual conference and be recognized at the awards presentation ceremony in September 2020 in Boise, Idaho, during SEJ’s 30th Annual Conference.
    The Nina Mason Pulliam Award will be given to all first-place winners in the SEJ Awards.

SEJ Awards for Reporting on the Environment | Eligibility Criteria

  • Unless they are on the SEJ Board of Directors, Awards Committee, SEJ staff, or awards personnel, any journalist can enter.
  • If an SEJ board member is a part of a group entry, an exception will be given if the board member did not play a substantial role.
  • The Ray Reece student journalism contest is open to students who were enrolled in a university, college, or high school at the time the submission was published or aired.
  • The student group excludes mid-career journalists who return to school, post-graduate students, and students who share a byline with non-students.
  • Judges are allowed to compete, but not in the categories in which they are judging.
  • Only journalism that focuses on environmental issues is eligible for the competition. Determine which kind of environmental stories are suitable for each category by reading the category descriptions.
  • The Awards Committee is the final arbiter of whether or not a story meets the required standard.
  • Eligible entries: The contest is open to journalism that has been published or aired in a media outlet that is accessible to the general public, including cable or internet material.
  • Except for the Book Award, the original publishing date must fall within the 12-month period from March 1, 2019, to the final day of February 2020.
  • Series that begin or conclude during the contest term are eligible in their entirety, but they can only be submitted once every contest year.
    The number of tales that must be submitted for each category remains the same.
  • Republished or rebroadcast articles are not eligible; only items published or aired by the original media organization are eligible.

How to Apply

  • Read through the category descriptions and choose the one that best matches your submission.
  • Email [email protected] or call Chris Bruggers at 502-641-1844 for assistance with categories.
  • To access the payment form, click on the category title.
  • You’ll be sent to the categories page when you’ve completed the payment procedure, where you can access the entry forms.
  • Make a note of your invoice number; you’ll need it to finish the entry form.

There is no longer a late deadline or late fines.

Deadline for submissions: April 1, 2022.

For more information and to apply, go here.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published.