Gloria Barron Prize for Young Heroes 2022 (up to $10,000)

The Gloria Barron Prize for Young Heroes 2022 is now accepting applications.

Gloria Barron Prize

The Gloria Barron Prize for Young Heroes, sponsored by the nonprofit organization Young Heroes Project, honors remarkable, civic-minded young people from all around North America.

The Barron Prize recognizes 25 exceptional young leaders between the ages of 8 and 18 who have had a major beneficial impact on people and the environment each year. The Barron Prize has granted more than half a million dollars to hundreds of young leaders since its creation and has received backing from groups such as the National Geographic Education Foundation, Girl Scouts of the USA, and the National Youth Leadership Council, among others.


The following items will be awarded to the winners:

  • Each winner receives $10,000 to go toward their further education or service activity.
  • Each winner is presented with a lovely customized plaque as well as a certificate of honor.
  • Each winner will get an autographed copy of T.A. Barron’s The Hero’s Trail, as well as a copy of Dream Big, a documentary film on previous Barron Prize winners. The Young Heroes Activity Guide and Bibliography are also given to the winners.
  • The Barron Prize winners are given the chance to network with other young heroes who have won the award.
  • Winners are given a variety of media options to advertise and expand the impact of their volunteer activity, including print, television, and radio.

Gloria Barron Prize | Eligibility Criteria

Open to public-spirited young people who are, on the April 15 deadline:

  • between the ages of eight and eighteen (not yet age 19)
  • permanent residents of and now live in the United States of America or Canada who are currently working on or have just completed an inspirational service project.
  • working as a team to lead their volunteer activities Large groups of young people are not eligible to apply for the Barron Prize.
  • The Barron Prize accepts applications regardless of race, color, nationality, national origin, creed, religion, gender, sexual orientation, or handicap.

Selection Criteria

The judges choose the winners based on the following criteria:

  • Winners must have planned and led a noteworthy service project that demonstrably benefitted others or the earth we all share.
  1. The winner must have been the primary initiator and motivation for the service action.
  2. The service activity could not have been done just to fulfill a school or job requirement.
  • Winners must possess the following qualities:
  1. displayed a good attitude, bravery, intellect, charity, and a strong moral purpose
  2. showed initiative, persistence, and selflessness in achieving their objectives
    achieved something inspirational—something that may motivate others to make a difference.
  3. accomplished more than just surviving a challenging personal battle. Their bravery had to have had an impression on the rest of the globe.
  • The heroic effort of the winners may or may not have been recognized. It is unlikely that fame would have been a motivator in and of itself.

How to Apply for the Gloria Barron Prize

Each year, applications must be completed and submitted online by 5:00 p.m. MT on April 15, when the portal will automatically shut.

To apply, go to this link.

Deadline: April 15, 2022

Visit Barron Prize for more information.

Recommended for You

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published.