Apply for the Global Pluralism Award 2023 ($50,000 CAD prize)

The Global Pluralism Award 2023 is now accepting applications.

Global Pluralism Award

The Global Pluralism Award was created in response to the fact that creating an inclusive society takes a lot of work, yet it frequently goes unnoticed or unsupported.

Individuals, organizations, governments, and other entities that are facing the problem of living peacefully and effectively with diversity are recognized and supported by the award. Its goal is to honor people who are trying to make the world a better place by valuing diversity and promoting varied communities.

The Global Centre for Pluralism (“the Centre”) sponsors the Award. The Aga Khan Centre, which was founded in Ottawa, Canada, by His Highness the Aga Khan in collaboration with the Canadian government, is an independent, non-profit organization that serves as a global platform for comparative analysis, education, and dialogue about the choices and actions that advance and sustain pluralism.


A total prize fund of CAD $150,000 will be shared among the three Award winners. The monetary reward will be split evenly among the three Award winners (each receiving CAD $50,000).

Requirements for the Global Pluralism Award

Candidates may come from any nation, including:

  • Individuals (for example, artists, journalists, scholars, policymakers, and filmmakers);
  • Professional associations, faith-based organizations, labor unions, non-profit research or educational institutions, local community groups, non-governmental organizations, foundations, think tanks, and so on are examples of civil society organizations.
  • social businesses;
  • Public and private corporations;
  • Public or private educational, research, and policy institutes;
  • Local/municipal, regional, or federal/national government branches or agencies
  • The following conditions must be met by candidates:
  • Candidates must still be alive. The Award cannot be granted to someone who has passed away.
  • Candidates for the 2023 Award must not have applied in each of the previous two Award cycles in a row (2019 and 2021 Award).
  • Candidates must not have earned the Global Pluralism Award or an honorable mention in the previous year.
  • Candidates must not be affiliated with either of the Centre’s founding partners, particularly the Government of Canada and the Aga Khan Development Network, as an agency, employee, or institutional initiative. However, organizations that are partners or grantees of the aforementioned are able to apply.
  • Members of the Jury, the Centre’s Board of Directors or employees, a Centre’s Director Emeritus, a past juror, or a consultant receiving income from the Centre at the time of nomination are ineligible.
  • Members of the Jury, the Centre’s Board of Directors, the Centre’s Director Emeriti, previous jurors, and employees are all disqualified, as are entities owned or run by them.
  • Candidates for the Award must not have been convicted of violent crimes, terrorism, or other criminal acts, nor have they publicly expressed extreme ideas.

How to Apply for the Global Pluralism Award

To apply, go to this link.

Deadline: May 31, 2022

Visit the Global Pluralism Award website for more details.

Recommended for You

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published.